Linton Kwesi Johnson

Forces of Victory: Vinyl 2LP


Release date: 6 October, 2023

Reissue of Linton Kwesi Johnson's second studio album, Forces of Victory, for Black Story Campaign 2023.

Having exploded onto the UK scene in 1978 with the dark, angry masterpiece, Dread Beat & Blood, Brixton ‘dub-poet’ Linton Kwesi Johnson returned in April 1979, with Forces Of Victory – the record that cemented his growing reputation as a major talent. Produced by LKJ and Dennis ‘Blackbeard’ Bovell and featuring his Dub Band providing the infectious grooves, the record contains some of Johnson’s most memorable songs/poems, such as the heartbreaking prison story of injustice, Sonny’s Lettah, the challenging, anti-racist Fite Dem Back, and the jazz-tinged single Want Fi Goh Rave. 

The album is dramatic and intense to the point of claustrophobia – featuring both wry observation and deep political conviction, delivered in LKJ’s unmistakable Jamaican patois. Not simply one of the most important reggae records of its time, it’s one of the most important reggae records ever recorded. Now expanded featuring a second disc of dub versions and extended mixes as well as enhanced artwork, gatefold sleeve and printed inner bags. Remastered at Abbey Road, and released on heavyweight vinyl.

LKJ was featured in the recent Steve McQueen film ‘Uprising’, about the 1981 New Cross fire that led to civil unrest, and ‘Small Axe’, McQueen’s series of stunning films about the experiences of West Indian immigrants in London.


Side A

1. Want Fi Goh Rave

2. It Noh Funny

3. Sonny's Lettah (Anti-Sus Poem)

4. Independent Intavenshan

Side B

1. Fite Dem Back

2. Reality Poem

3. Forces Of Vicktry

4. Time Come

Side C

1. Want Fi Goh Rave (Ext.) 12” single version

2. Funny Dub

3. Iron Bar Dub

Side D

1. Brain Smashing Dub

2. Reality Poem (Ext.) 12” single version

3. Victorious Dub

Vinyl LP